Geography: Botswana is roughly the size of France or Taxes. Its surface is 585,370 sq. km. It is entirely landlocked bordered by its neighbours South Africa, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Botswana is 50% covered by Kalahari (Kgalagadi) Desert. Most of the population is settled in the east and Southeast

Population: The total population estimated over 2 million, growing rate of 1.9 % per annum. About 33 % of the population is younger than 15 years of age. Over 63 % of the population is settled in urban areas. (Cities, town and urban villages), Botswana is one of the most sparsely populated countries in the world. Around 10 percent of the population lives in the capital and largest city, Gaborone.

Climate– Summer-December to March. High temperatures average 30C to 35C with lows around 18C and rain particularly in December and March. Winter-June to August. Daytime temperatures around 23C with night-time lows averaging 5C.

Visas; Visitors from the European Union as well as most Commonwealth countries and the USA do not require visas. Visitors from other countries should check with Botswana’s Embassies or consulates. Visas are initially granted for 30 days and can be extended for a total of three months. Visitors from Angola do require visas.

Currency; Botswana uses the pula (BWP) as its national currency. The pula is divided into 100 thebe. The pula is freely traded and there are no currency restrictions. It is one of Africa’s strongest currencies. Notes are P100, P50, P20 and P10. Coins are P5, P2, P1 and thebe 50t, 25t, 10t, and 5t.

Language; the official language is English which is used in government and business affairs. Setswana, Setswana is the national language and is widely spoken. Other ethnic groups speak their own languages.

Banks: Ten main commercial banks operate in Botswana, Barclays Bank, Standard Chartered Bank, First National Bank, Stanbic Bank, Bank of Baroda, Gaborone Capital Bank, Bank ABC, Bank of India and State Bank of India. There are also a number of foreign exchange bureau. Banking hours Monday to Friday: 0830 am to 330 p.m.; Saturday 0830 to 11 am.

Points of Entry: Countries are encouraged to use the following points of entry:

Major points of entry: Sir Seretse Khama International Airport (Air), Ramokgwebana Boarder Gate (Northern Border with Zimbabwe), Tlokweng Boarder Gate (South Eastern Border with South Africa), Mamuno Boarder Gate (Western Boarder with Namibia)